After I decided that I had a decent design for my pouch, I had to find ways to market it. The first time I took it to a building supply store, the weather was lousy (well, great if you were a skier)- huge fluffy snowflakes falling. And I needed a sheet of 1/4″ oak plywood for a cabinet back.

When I backed up to the loading dock, and handed the guy my bill of sale, he looked at it, then looked at my truck- tonneau cover, but on a 6 1/2 foot box. “Are you crazy? You can’t haul oak plywood in this weather in that truck! You’ll ruin it.”

So, I pulled out the pouch, unrolled it and pulled open the end. “Slide it in here, that will keep it dry.”

He just stood there with his mouth open. “Where the hell did you get that?” “I made it.” I said.

“Can you make another one? We could really use one for baseboard trim. You wouldn’t believe how many rolls of plastic we go through in a year.”

I said I could make them any size they need. So, now they have a plywood pouch, a trim pouch and two drywall covers. The drywall cover fits like an upside down box over a 34-sheet lift of 1/2″ drywall (Sheetrock). I have one for 8′ long sheets and one for 12′ long sheets.

Recently a man that owned a small furniture store e-mailed me and asked if I could make one for delivering mattresses. Like I said earlier, I can make one for just about any application. So now he has two of them

Can you think of any other ideas for my pouches? Have a look at my website, and drop me a line. Tell me what you think of them.

Leave a Reply

